The team


University of Exeter (Sponsor)

Professor Terence Wilkin – Chief Investigator (Endocrinology and Metabolism)

Terence Wilkin : Professor Wilkin graduated from St Andrew‘s University Medical School and received his MD on thyroid autoimmunity from the University of Dundee. He spent the next 15 years with the Wellcome Trust, first as European Travelling Fellow at the University of Montpellier in Southern France and then as Wellcome Senior Research Fellow/Senior Lecturer/Reader at the University of Southampton. He moved to the Chair of Medicine at Plymouth University’s new Postgraduate Medical School in 1993 and is currently Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of Exeter Medical School. He published the accelerator hypothesis in 2001, and from 2000-2013 directed the EarlyBird Study, a 12-year cohort study of the behaviour of insulin resistance in contemporary children which provides the backdrop to adAPT.

  • Dr Tim McDonald – Co-investigator (Chemical Pathology)
  • Gail Seymour – Research Ethics and Governance Manager
  • Professor Edwin Gale – Chairman Trial Steering Committee
  • Professor Paul Ewings – Chairman Data Monitoring Committee
  • Anne Price – Trial Co-ordinator


University of Dundee

Professor Stephen Greene – Co-investigator (Paediatric Diabetes)

Professor Stephen Greene : Stephen Greene qualified from UCL, London, and pursued a career in Child Health with positions in Oxford, Great Ormond Street and Guy’s Hospital, London and the Kinderspital Hospital, Zurich. He was appointed Professor of Child and Adolescent Health at the University of Dundee in 2010. Stephen was Secretary to the Academic Board of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (1998-2003) and the International Fellow of the RCPCH (2005-2010). He has a research interest in diabetes in the young, and was elected president of the International Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Diabetes (ISPAD) in 2012. He was appointed Director of the Scottish Children’s Research Network in 2013, and was awarded the Diabetes UK ‘Arnold Bloom Lecture’ in 2014.

  • Dr Calum Sutherland – Director, Division of Cardiovascular and Diabetes Medicine

Tayside Clinical Trials Unit

  • Dr Fiona Hogarth – Co-Director
  • Dr Roberta Littleford – Assistant Director
  • Pauline Armory – Portfolio Clinical Trial Manager
  • Clinical Trial Manager adAPT
  • Dr Claire Jones – Developer for TRuST & Recruitment Tracker
  • Baxter Millar – Tayside Pharmaceuticals, IMP distribution


  • Amani Yacoub – Associate Specialist, Principal Investigator
  • Scott Williamson – Consultant Paediatrician, Deputy Principal Investigator
  • Claire Bell – Research nurse






  • Amalia Mayo – Paediatric Consultant, Principal Investigator
  • Angela Sun – Paediatric Consultant, Deputy Principal Investigator


  • Kenneth Robertson – Consultant Paediatrician, Principal Investigator
  • Ian Craigie – Associate Specialist in Paediatric Diabetes, Deputy Principal Investigator


  • Victoria Franklin – Paediatric Consultant, Principal Investigator
  • David MacFarlane – Consultant Diabetologist, Deputy Principal Investigator


  • Kerstin Bumke – Paediatric Consultant, Principal Investigator
  • Ross McLean – Paediatric Specialist Doctor, Deputy Principal Investigator


  • Nicky Conway – Senior Clinical Research Fellow, Principal Investigator
  • Vicky Alexander – Consultant Paediatrician, Deputy Principal Investigator
  • Debbie Rice – Research nurse



  • Dr Pamela Dicks – Network Manager
  • Susan Macfarlane – Lead Paediatric Research Nurse
  • Debbie Rice, Tayside/ Fife/Forth Valley
  • Liz Waxman, Glasgow
  • Claire Bell, Ayrshire & Arran/Dumfries and Galloway
  • Maggie Connon, Grampian/Highlands
  • Victoria Barrow, Grampian/Highlands.


  • Professor Polly Bingley – Head of Department (Diabetes)
  • Alistair Williams – Research Fellow (Diabetes & Metabolism)


  • Jeffrey Rothwell – Head of EU Pharmacovigilance & QPPV

Are you interested in being part of adAPT? Please join us – click here